Become a Member

2024 IATA Award Winners Announced




The Illinois Athletic Trainers Association is proud to announce the winners of this year's honors and awards! We would like to congratulate all award recipients; your hard work and dedication have not gone unnoticed! We thank everyone who nominated a colleague for an award this year as well. Athletic trainers often exist in supporting roles, but it is important to publicly acknowledge the efforts of those that promote the profession and go above and beyond in their care. Please join us in congratulating the following individuals. Honorees will be formally recognized at our Annual Meeting this June 7th & 8th in Naperville. Come celebrate their achievements with us!

Illinois Athletic Trainers Association Hall of Fame
Tanya Marquez, MS, LAT, ATC, CCISM
Rich Carey Dedicated Service Award
Andrea Kovalsky, MS, LAT, ATC
Impact Athletic Trainer Award
Christopher Murphy, MEd, LAT, ATC
Special Recognition Award
Albert Maurer, MD
Young Professionals Award
Sarah Turner, LAT, ATC

Karen Hovorka Humanitarian Award
Dale Grooms, LAT, ATC

Our Mission

The mission of the IATA is to improve the quality of healthcare in the State of Illinois through the advancement, promotion, and improvement of the athletic training profession for practicing Athletic Trainers in all settings, and to be proactive in creating effective partnerships in our communities, as well as among those interested in athletic training as a career. In addition, IATA provides a means for a free exchange of ideas for the Illinois athletic training field.


Need Help Finding What You're Looking For?

Check out our Frequently Asked Questions or contact us directly!

Contact Us

Partners & Sponsors